Lemons

I don’t know about you, but I’m getting tired of hearing cliches.  What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. Whatever. What goes around comes around. What does that even mean?!? I wonder if we use cliche phrases to avoid feeling pain. But pain is still there. Words can’t make pain/anxiety/angst go away. So I for one intend to look pain/anxiety/angst right in the face and deal with it!

I’m not saying that I like pain. I hate the nasty stuff. But I will tell you this: I drove from my divorce hearing straight to the beach and cried into the waves. I sat there as long as I felt like, crying out loud. I didn’t run any quaint or comforting phrases through my mind. I just cried and cried and cried. In fact, I didn’t really do any self-talk at all on that 5-hour round trip drive. I just cried. I went through most of a box of Kleenex. It was cathartic. And I look back at that time, and I’m glad that I did it. It wasn’t pleasant, but it was a time that I can look on and say: Yeah, I went through that, and now I’m here on the other side.

I appreciate Ramon Presson, who also hates cliches. I borrowed all of the lemon quotes from his blog:

http://ramonpresson.com/2011/11/when-life-hands-you-lemons-keep-the-juice-away-from-a-paper-cut. He is the author of the book “When Will My Life Not Suck?”

When life gives you lemons…stick some firecrackers in ‘em and blow them all to heck!

This image shows a whole and a cut lemon.

When life gives you lemons…insert them into the tailpipe of your boss’s car.

When life hands you lemons…ask, “Does this come with fries?”

When life gives you lemons…re-gift them. (You know you’ve got someone in mind.)

When life hands you lemons…jump up and down, scream, and act like a crazed person who just won a new car on “The Price is Right.” Life will be afraid to bring you lemons ever again.

When life gives you lemons, hold them like a split finger fastball and throw them back at life’s head.

Pair of lemons-cropped

When life hands you lemons…hand them back and say, “I ordered a daiquiri.”

When life gives you lemons…paint them like grenades, duct tape them to your chest, walk into Starbucks and say to the barista, “I want a venti skinny pumpkin spice latte and I WANT IT NOW!!!”

Still Life with Lemons

One thought on “Lemons

  1. Good golly Miss Molly!
    “When life gives you lemons…re-gift them”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE that. Made me giggle. Yeah, I know a few people I could give a lemon to. haha.
    Thanks for teaching me to just embrace the “yuckies” sometimes. It is okay to stay on the sofa all day long and feel grumpy. Makes me a bit more tart the next day.
    You are a lovely shade of yellow.
    I love your strength. I love that you share your spirit.
    Thanks for sharing your good ideas.
    You are amazing. Love that about you.
    D

Leave a Reply

